PM Transcripts

Press/Media: Other

Period31 Aug 1997

Media coverage


Media coverage

  • TitleGovernment Appointments to the Constitutional Convention
    Media name/outletPMC Media Releases
    Duration/Length/Size7 pages
    DescriptionI am pleased to announce the Government's 36 non-parliamentary appointments to the Constitutional Convention.

    The appointments represent a broad cross section of Australian society, and a wide diversity of skills and experience.

    They also reflect the Government's commitment to ensure that women, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, young Australians and local government are represented at the Convention....YOUTH APPOINTEES

    Andrea Ang (WA, 18 years)

    Currently Andrea Ang is studying medicine at the University of Western Australia. She was winner of the Australian Students' Prize in 1996, for coming 11th in the Western Australian tertiary entrance examinations.

    Dannalee Bell (VIC, 19 years)

    Dannalee Bell is a second year Arts/Law student at Bond University. She was raised on a property in the Victorian Mallee. In 1995 she travelled around Australia for 35 days as the State winner of the Lions Youth of the Year Quest. In 1994 she was the national winner of Jaycee's Youth Speaks for Australia award and in 1996 was awarded an Australia Day Scholarship to attend Bond University.

    Mia Handshin (SA, 19 years)

    Mia Handshin is a second year Arts/Law student at the University of Adelaide. She was a Youth Governor of SA and Member of the 1997 SA National Youth Parliament team.

    She was also a participant in the 1997 National Student Leadership Forum, among other achievements.

    Adam Johnston (NSW, 24 years)

    Adam Johnston is currently undertaking a Bachelor of Law at Macquarie University, and was also a participant in the 1997 National Student Leadership Forum. He has also participated in the Australian National Internship Program sponsored by the ANU and Commonwealth Parliament....
    Producer/AuthorDepartment of Prime Minister and Cabinet
    PersonsAdam Johnston