If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Research Outputs

Filter
Review article
2020

A decade of advances in transposon-insertion sequencing

Cain, A. K., Barquist, L., Goodman, A. L., Paulsen, I. T., Parkhill, J. & van Opijnen, T., 12 Jun 2020, In : Nature Reviews Genetics. 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
2 Downloads (Pure)
2017

Yeast's balancing act between ethanol and glycerol production in low-alcohol wines

Goold, H. D., Kroukamp, H., Williams, T. C., Paulsen, I. T., Varela, C. & Pretorius, I. S., 1 Mar 2017, In : Microbial Biotechnology. 10, 2, p. 264-278 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
42 Citations (Scopus)
38 Downloads (Pure)
2016

Synthetic Evolution of Metabolic Productivity Using Biosensors

Williams, T. C., Pretorius, I. S. & Paulsen, I. T., 1 May 2016, In : Trends in Biotechnology. 34, 5, p. 371-381 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

50 Citations (Scopus)

Tiny microbes with a big impact: the role of cyanobacteria and their metabolites in shaping our future

Mazard, S., Penesyan, A., Ostrowski, M., Paulsen, I. T. & Egan, S., 17 May 2016, In : Marine Drugs. 14, 5, p. 1-19 19 p., 97.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
35 Citations (Scopus)
27 Downloads (Pure)
2015

Antibiotic discovery: combatting bacterial resistance in cells and in biofilm communities

Penesyan, A., Gillings, M. & Paulsen, I. T., Apr 2015, In : Molecules. 20, 4, p. 5286-5298 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
139 Citations (Scopus)
30 Downloads (Pure)

Community-acquired Acinetobacter baumannii: clinical characteristics, epidemiology and pathogenesis

Dexter, C., Murray, G. L., Paulsen, I. T. & Peleg, A. Y., 1 May 2015, In : Expert Review of Anti-Infective Therapy. 13, 5, p. 567-573 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

64 Citations (Scopus)

Ecology and evolution of the human microbiota: Fire, farming and antibiotics

Gillings, M. R., Paulsen, I. T. & Tetu, S. G., 8 Sep 2015, In : Genes. 6, 3, p. 841-857 17 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
36 Citations (Scopus)
33 Downloads (Pure)

Proteomics of hosts and pathogens in cystic fibrosis

Kamath, K. S., Kumar, S. S., Kaur, J., Venkatakrishnan, V., Paulsen, I. T., Nevalainen, H. & Molloy, M. P., 1 Feb 2015, In : Proteomics - Clinical Applications. 9, 1-2, p. 134-146 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

8 Citations (Scopus)
2014

Microbiology of the Anthropocene

Gillings, M. R. & Paulsen, I. T., Mar 2014, In : Anthropocene. 5, p. 1-8 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
23 Citations (Scopus)
2009

Ecological genomics of marine picocyanobacteria

Scanlan, D. J., Ostrowski, M., Mazard, S., Dufresne, A., Garczarek, L., Hess, W. R., Post, A. F., Hagemann, M., Paulsen, I. & Partensky, F., Jun 2009, In : Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews. 73, 2, p. 249-299 51 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

409 Citations (Scopus)
2006

A high efficiency cloning and expression system for proteomic analysis

Ding, X. Z., Paulsen, I. T., Bhattacharjee, A. K., Nikolich, M. P., Myers, G. & Hoover, D. L., Jul 2006, In : Proteomics. 6, 14, p. 4038-4046 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

5 Citations (Scopus)

Microbial drug efflux proteins of the major facilitator superfamily

Saidijam, M., Benedetti, G., Ren, Q., Xu, Z., Hoyle, C. J., Palmer, S. L., Ward, A., Bettaney, K. E., Szakonyi, G., Meuller, J., Morrison, S., Pos, M. K., Butaye, P., Walravens, K., Langton, K., Herbert, R. B., Skurray, R. A., Paulsen, I. T., O'Reilly, J., Rutherford, N. G. & 3 others, Brown, M. H., Bill, R. M. & Henderson, P. J. F., Jul 2006, In : Current Drug Targets. 7, 7, p. 793-811 19 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

60 Citations (Scopus)
2004

Lessons from the Genome Sequence of Neurospora crassa: Tracing the Path from Genomic Blueprint to Multicellular Organism

Borkovich, K. A., Alex, L. A., Yarden, O., Freitag, M., Turner, G. E., Read, N. D., Seiler, S., Bell-Pedersen, D., Paietta, J., Plesofsky, N., Plamann, M., Goodrich-Tanrikulu, M., Schulte, U., Mannhaupt, G., Nargang, F. E., Radford, A., Selitrennikoff, C., Galagan, J. E., Dunlap, J. C., Loros, J. J. & 19 others, Catcheside, D., Inoue, H., Aramayo, R., Polymenis, M., Selker, E. U., Sachs, M. S., Marzluf, G. A., Paulsen, I., Davis, R., Ebbole, D. J., Zelter, A., Kalkman, E. R., O'Rourke, R., Bowring, F., Yeadon, J., Ishii, C., Suzuki, K., Sakai, W. & Pratt, R., Mar 2004, In : Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews. 68, 1, p. 1-108 108 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

421 Citations (Scopus)

The E. coli EcoCyc database: No longer just a metabolic pathway database

Karp, P. D., Arnaud, M., Collado-Vides, J., Ingraham, J., Paulsen, I. T. & Saier, M. H., Jan 2004, In : ASM News. 70, 1, p. 25-30 6 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

37 Citations (Scopus)
2003

Multidrug efflux pumps and resistance: Regulation and evolution

Paulsen, I. T., Oct 2003, In : Current Opinion in Microbiology. 6, 5, p. 446-451 6 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

151 Citations (Scopus)

ToxoDB: Accessing the Toxoplasma gondii genome

Kissinger, J. C., Gajria, B., Li, L., Paulsen, I. T. & Roos, D. S., 1 Jan 2003, In : Nucleic Acids Research. 31, 1, p. 234-236 3 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

141 Citations (Scopus)
2002

Sugar metabolism by Brucellae

Essenberg, R. C., Seshadri, R., Nelson, K. & Paulsen, I., 20 Dec 2002, In : Veterinary Microbiology. 90, 1-4, p. 249-261 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

27 Citations (Scopus)

Transport capabilities encoded within the Bacillus subtilis genome

Saier M.H., J., Goldman, S. R., Maile, R. R., Moreno, M. S., Weyler, W., Yang, N. & Paulsen, I. T., 2002, In : Journal of Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology. 4, 1, p. 37-67 31 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

28 Citations (Scopus)
2001

Phylogeny of multidrug transporters

Saier, M. H. & Paulsen, I. T., 2001, In : Seminars in Cell and Developmental Biology. 12, 3, p. 205-213 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

246 Citations (Scopus)
2000

Phylogenetic analyses of the constituents of Type III protein secretion systems

Nguyen, L., Paulsen, I. T., Tchieu, J., Hueck, C. J. & Saier, M. H., Apr 2000, In : Journal of Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology. 2, 2, p. 125-144 20 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

84 Citations (Scopus)
1999

New glycoprotein-associated amino acid transporters

Verrey, F., Jack, D. L., Paulsen, I. T., Saier, M. H. & Pfeiffer, R., 1999, In : Journal of Membrane Biology. 172, 3, p. 181-192 12 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

135 Citations (Scopus)

Paralogous genes encoding transport proteins in microbial genomes

Saier, M. H. & Paulsen, I. T., Nov 1999, In : Research in Microbiology. 150, 9-10, p. 689-699 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

9 Citations (Scopus)

Phylogenetic characterization of novel transport protein families revealed by genome analyses

Saier, M. H., Eng, B. H., Fard, S., Garg, J., Haggerty, D. A., Hutchinson, W. J., Jack, D. L., Lai, E. C., Liu, H. J., Nusinew, D. P., Omar, A. M., Pao, S. S., Paulsen, I. T., Quan, J. A., Sliwinski, M., Tseng, T. T., Wachi, S. & Young, G. B., 25 Feb 1999, In : Biochimica et Biophysica Acta - Reviews on Biomembranes. 1422, 1, p. 1-56 56 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

183 Citations (Scopus)

The major facilitator superfamily

Saier, M. H., Beatty, J. T., Goffeau, A., Harley, K. T., Heijne, W. H. M., Huang, S. C., Jack, D. L., Jähn, P. S., Lew, K., Liu, J., Pao, S. S., Paulsen, I. T., Tseng, T. T. & Virk, P. S., 1999, In : Journal of Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology. 1, 2, p. 257-279 23 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

377 Citations (Scopus)
1998

Evolutionary origins of multidrug and drug-specific efflux pumps in bacteria

Saier, M. H., Paulsen, I. T., Sliwinski, M. K., Pao, S. S., Skurray, R. A. & Nikaido, H., 1998, In : FASEB Journal. 12, 3, p. 265-274 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

197 Citations (Scopus)

Major facilitator superfamily

Pao, S. S., Paulsen, I. T. & Saier, M. H., 1998, In : Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews. 62, 1, p. 1-34 34 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

1355 Citations (Scopus)
1997

A family of Gram-negative bacterial outer membrane factors that function in the export of proteins, carbohydrates, drugs and heavy metals from Gram-negative bacteria

Paulsen, I. T., Park, J. H., Choi, P. S. & Saier, M. H., 1 Nov 1997, In : FEMS Microbiology Letters. 156, 1, p. 1-8 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

203 Citations (Scopus)
1996

Catabolite repression and inducer control in Gram-positive bacteria

Saier, M. H., Chauvaux, S., Cook, G. M., Deutscher, J., Paulsen, I. T., Reizer, J. & Ye, J. J., Feb 1996, In : Microbiology. 142, 2, p. 217-230 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

195 Citations (Scopus)

Proton-dependent multidrug efflux systems

Paulsen, I. T., Brown, M. H. & Skurray, R. A., Dec 1996, In : Microbiological Reviews. 60, 4, p. 575-608 34 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

901 Citations (Scopus)

The SMR family: A novel family of multidrug efflux proteins involved with the efflux of lipophilic drugs

Paulsen, I. T., Skurray, R. A., Tam, R., Saier, M. H., Turner, R. J., Weiner, J. H., Goldberg, E. B. & Grinius, L. L., 1996, In : Molecular Microbiology. 19, 6, p. 1167-1175 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

213 Citations (Scopus)