• 7925 Citations
  • 46 h-Index
1988 …2024

Research output per year

If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Research Outputs

Filter
Review article
2020

Observational tools that quantify nontechnical skills in the operating room: a systematic review

McMullan, R. D., Urwin, R., Sunderland, N. & Westbrook, J., 1 Mar 2020, In : Journal of Surgical Research. 247, p. 306-322 17 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

The three numbers you need to know about healthcare: the 60-30-10 Challenge

Braithwaite, J., Glasziou, P. & Westbrook, J., 4 May 2020, In : BMC Medicine. 18, 1, p. 1-8 8 p., 102.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
2019

Prevalence of medication errors among paediatric inpatients: systematic review and meta-analysis

Gates, P. J., Baysari, M. T., Gazarian, M., Raban, M. Z., Meyerson, S. & Westbrook, J. I., Nov 2019, In : Drug Safety. 42, 11, p. 1329-1342 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

2 Citations (Scopus)
1 Citation (Scopus)
2018

Preventable adverse drug events among inpatients: a systematic review

Gates, P. J., Meyerson, S. A., Baysari, M. T., Lehmann, C. U. & Westbrook, J. I., 1 Sep 2018, In : Pediatrics. 142, 3, p. 1-13 13 p., e20180805.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Citations (Scopus)
2017
23 Citations (Scopus)

Effectiveness of an electronic patient-centred self-management tool for gout sufferers: a cluster randomised controlled trial protocol

Day, R. O., Frensham, L. J., Nguyen, A. D., Baysari, M. T., Aung, E., Lau, A. Y. S., Zwar, N., Reath, J., Laba, T., Li, L., McLachlan, A., Runciman, W. B., Buchbinder, R., Clay-Williams, R., Coiera, E., Braithwaite, J., McNeil, H. P., Hunter, D. J., Pile, K. J., Portek, I. & 2 others, Williams, K. M. & Westbrook, J. I., 1 Oct 2017, In : BMJ Open. 7, 10, p. 1-12 12 p., e017281.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
7 Citations (Scopus)
17 Downloads (Pure)

How well do general practitioners manage laboratory test results for patients with diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease? A systematic review

Mccaughey, E. J., Li, J., Badrick, T. C., Westbrook, J. I. & Georgiou, A., 1 Oct 2017, In : International Journal for Quality in Health Care. 29, 6, p. 769-778 10 p., mzx105.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

27 Citations (Scopus)

Key factors influencing the incidence of hemolysis: A critical appraisal of current evidence

McCaughey, E. J., Vecellio, E., Lake, R., Li, L., Burnett, L., Chesher, D., Braye, S., Mackay, M., Gay, S., Badrick, T., Westbrook, J. & Georgiou, A., 2 Jan 2017, In : Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences. 54, 1, p. 59-72 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

9 Citations (Scopus)
2016

Current methods of haemolysis detection and reporting as a source of risk to patient safety: a narrative review

McCaughey, E. J., Vecellio, E., Lake, R., Li, L., Burnett, L., Chesher, D., Braye, S., Mackay, M., Gay, S., Badrick, T. C., Westbrook, J. I. & Georgiou, A., Dec 2016, In : Clinical Biochemist Reviews. 37, 4, p. 143-151 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Citations (Scopus)

The effectiveness of information technology to improve antimicrobial prescribing in hospitals: a systematic review and meta-analysis

Baysari, M. T., Lehnbom, E. C., Li, L., Hargreaves, A., Day, R. O. & Westbrook, J. I., 1 Aug 2016, In : International Journal of Medical Informatics. 92, p. 15-34 20 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

36 Citations (Scopus)

What alert thresholds should be used to identify critical risk results: A systematic review of the evidence

Campbell, C. A., Georgiou, A., Westbrook, J. I. & Horvath, A. R., 1 Nov 2016, In : Clinical Chemistry. 62, 11, p. 1445-1457 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Citations (Scopus)
2014
77 Citations (Scopus)

Impact of Medication Reconciliation and Review on Clinical Outcomes

Lehnbom, E. C., Stewart, M. J., Manias, E. & Westbrook, J. I., 2014, In : Annals of Pharmacotherapy. 48, 10, p. 1298-1312 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

98 Citations (Scopus)

The impact of clinical leadership on health information technology adoption: Systematic review

Ingebrigtsen, T., Georgiou, A., Clay-Williams, R., Magrabi, F., Hordern, A., Prgomet, M., Li, J., Westbrook, J. & Braithwaite, J., 2014, In : International Journal of Medical Informatics. 83, 6, p. 393-405 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

48 Citations (Scopus)
2013
41 Citations (Scopus)
2012

CareTrack: Assessing the appropriateness of health care delivery in Australia

Runciman, W. B., Hunt, T. D., Hannaford, N. A., Hibbert, P. D., Westbrook, J. I., Coiera, E. W., Day, R. O., Hindmarsh, D. M., McGlynn, E. A. & Braithwaite, J., Jul 2012, In : Medical Journal of Australia. 197, 2, p. 100-105 6 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

208 Citations (Scopus)

CareTrack Australia: assessing the appropriateness of adult healthcare: protocol for a retrospective medical record review

Hunt, T. D., Ramanathan, S. A., Hannaford, N. A., Hibbert, P. D., Braithwaite, J., Coiera, E., Day, R. O., Westbrook, J. I. & Runciman, W. B., 2012, In : BMJ Open. 2, 1, p. 1-8 8 p., 000665.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
18 Citations (Scopus)
7 Downloads (Pure)

Examining the role of information exchange in residential aged care work practices-a survey of residential aged care facilities

Gaskin, S., Georgiou, A., Barton, D. & Westbrook, J., 2012, In : BMC Geriatrics. 12, p. 1-11 11 p., 40.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

29 Citations (Scopus)

Failure to follow-up test results for ambulatory patients: A systematic review

Callen, J. L., Westbrook, J. I., Georgiou, A. & Li, J., Oct 2012, In : Journal of General Internal Medicine. 27, 10, p. 1334-1348 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

100 Citations (Scopus)

Health professional networks as a vector for improving healthcare quality and safety: a systematic review

Cunningham, F. C., Ranmuthugala, G., Plumb, J., Georgiou, A., Westbrook, J. I. & Braithwaite, J., Mar 2012, In : BMJ Quality and Safety. 21, 3, p. 239-249 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

131 Citations (Scopus)

Narrative synthesis of health service accreditation literature

Hinchcliff, R., Greenfield, D., Moldovan, M., Westbrook, J. I., Pawsey, M., Mumford, V. & Braithwaite, J., Dec 2012, In : BMJ Quality and Safety. 21, 12, p. 979-991 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

87 Citations (Scopus)
9 Citations (Scopus)
2011

Non-emergency patient transport: what are the quality and safety issues? A systematic review

Hains, I. M., Marks, A., Georgiou, A. & Westbrook, J. I., Feb 2011, In : International Journal for Quality in Health Care. 23, 1, p. 68-75 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

24 Citations (Scopus)
37 Citations (Scopus)
15 Citations (Scopus)

The safety implications of missed test results for hospitalised patients: A systematic review

Callen, J., Georgiou, A., Li, J. & Westbrook, J. I., Feb 2011, In : BMJ Quality and Safety. 20, 2, p. 194-199 6 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

104 Citations (Scopus)
2010
50 Citations (Scopus)
2006

Computerised order entry systems and pathology services--a synthesis of the evidence

Georgiou, A. & Westbrook, J. I., May 2006, In : Clinical Biochemist Reviews. 27, 2, p. 79-87 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

2004
48 Citations (Scopus)

Nurses' use of online clinical evidence

Gosling, A. S., Westbrook, J. I. & Spencer, R., Jul 2004, In : Journal of Advanced Nursing. 47, 2, p. 201-211 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

66 Citations (Scopus)
2000

The impact of dyspepsia definition on prevalence estimates: Considerations for future researchers

Westbrook, J. I., McIntosh, J. H. & Talley, N. J., 2000, In : Scandinavian Journal of Gastroenterology. 35, 3, p. 227-233 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

28 Citations (Scopus)
1998

The outcomes for patients with incidental lesions: Serendipitous or latrogenic?

Westbrook, J. I., Braithwaite, J. & McIntosh, J. H., Nov 1998, In : American Journal of Roentgenology. 171, 5, p. 1193-1196 4 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

28 Citations (Scopus)
1997
1 Citation (Scopus)
1995

What will be the outcome of the outcomes movement?

Braithwaite, J., Westbrook, J. & Lazarus, L., 1995, In : Australian and New Zealand Journal of Medicine. 25, 6, p. 731-735 5 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Citations (Scopus)
1994

Charting a course through the health care policy maze

Braithwaite, J. & Westbrook, J. I., 1994, In : Australian Journal of Public Administration. 53, 2, p. 257-261 5 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

1993
39 Citations (Scopus)