Sakkie Pretorius

Professor

  • 12941 Citations
  • 56 h-Index
1983 …2020

Research output per year

If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Research Outputs

Filter
Review article
2020

Tasting the terroir of wine yeast innovation

Pretorius, I. S., Feb 2020, In : FEMS Yeast Research. 20, 1, p. 1-22 22 p., foz084.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
3 Citations (Scopus)
174 Downloads (Pure)
Open Access
File
1 Downloads (Pure)
2019

The whiff of wine yeast innovation: strategies for enhancing aroma production by yeast during wine fermentation

Van Wyk, N., Grossmann, M., Wendland, J., Von Wallbrunn, C. & Pretorius, I. S., 11 Dec 2019, In : Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry. 67, 49, p. 13496-13505 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

3 Citations (Scopus)
2018

Applications of yeast synthetic biology geared towards the production of biopharmaceuticals

Walker, R. S. K. & Pretorius, I. S., Jul 2018, In : Genes. 9, 7, p. 1-22 22 p., 340.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
9 Citations (Scopus)
335 Downloads (Pure)

The smell of synthetic biology: engineering strategies for aroma compound production in yeast

van Wyk, N., Kroukamp, H. & Pretorius, I. S., Sep 2018, In : Fermentation. 4, 3, p. 1-18 18 p., 54.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
7 Citations (Scopus)
98 Downloads (Pure)
2017

Synthetic biology stretching the realms of possibility in wine yeast research

Jagtap, U. B., Jadhav, J. P., Bapat, V. A. & Pretorius, I. S., 3 Jul 2017, In : International Journal of Food Microbiology. 252, p. 24-34 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

10 Citations (Scopus)

Synthetic genome engineering forging new frontiers for wine yeast

Pretorius, I. S., 2 Jan 2017, In : Critical Reviews in Biotechnology. 37, 1, p. 112-136 25 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

18 Citations (Scopus)

Yeast's balancing act between ethanol and glycerol production in low-alcohol wines

Goold, H. D., Kroukamp, H., Williams, T. C., Paulsen, I. T., Varela, C. & Pretorius, I. S., 1 Mar 2017, In : Microbial Biotechnology. 10, 2, p. 264-278 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
42 Citations (Scopus)
38 Downloads (Pure)
2016

Synthetic Evolution of Metabolic Productivity Using Biosensors

Williams, T. C., Pretorius, I. S. & Paulsen, I. T., 1 May 2016, In : Trends in Biotechnology. 34, 5, p. 371-381 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

50 Citations (Scopus)
2014

Genomic insights into the evolution of industrial yeast species Brettanomyces bruxellensis

Curtin, C. D. & Pretorius, I. S., 1 Nov 2014, In : FEMS Yeast Research. 14, 7, p. 997-1005 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

28 Citations (Scopus)

Not your ordinary yeast: Non-Saccharomyces yeasts in wine production uncovered

Jolly, N. P., Varela, C. & Pretorius, I. S., Mar 2014, In : FEMS Yeast Research. 14, 2, p. 215-237 23 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

332 Citations (Scopus)
2013

At the cutting-edge of grape and wine biotechnology

Borneman, A. R., Schmidt, S. A. & Pretorius, I. S., Apr 2013, In : Trends in Genetics. 29, 4, p. 263-271 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

24 Citations (Scopus)

Comparative genomics: A revolutionary tool for wine yeast strain development

Borneman, A. R., Pretorius, I. S. & Chambers, P. J., Apr 2013, In : Current Opinion in Biotechnology. 24, 2, p. 192-199 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

24 Citations (Scopus)
2012

Flavour-active wine yeasts

Cordente, A. G., Curtin, C. D., Varela, C. & Pretorius, I. S., Nov 2012, In : Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology. 96, 3, p. 601-618 18 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
File
72 Citations (Scopus)
44 Downloads (Pure)

The Winemaker's bug: From ancient wisdom to opening new vistas with frontier yeast science

Pretorius, I. S., Curtin, C. D. & Chambers, P. J., Jul 2012, In : Bioengineered Bugs. 3, 3, p. 147-156 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

31 Citations (Scopus)
2010

Fermenting knowledge: The history of winemaking, science and yeast research

Chambers, P. J. & Pretorius, I. S., Dec 2010, In : EMBO Reports. 11, 12, p. 914-920 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

50 Citations (Scopus)
2007

Yeast systems biology: modelling the winemaker's art

Borneman, A. R., Chambers, P. J. & Pretorius, I. S., Aug 2007, In : Trends in Biotechnology. 25, 8, p. 349-355 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

25 Citations (Scopus)
2005

Yeast modulation of wine flavor

Swiegers, J. H. & Pretorius, I. S., 2005, In : Advances in Applied Microbiology. 57, SUPPL. A, p. 131-175 45 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

203 Citations (Scopus)
2004

Glucose and sucrose: Hazardous fast-food for industrial yeast?

Verstrepen, K. J., Iserentant, D., Malcorps, P., Derdelinckx, G., Van Dijck, P., Winderickx, J., Pretorius, I. S., Thevelein, J. M. & Delvaux, F. R., Oct 2004, In : Trends in Biotechnology. 22, 10, p. 531-537 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

105 Citations (Scopus)

The Saccharomyces cerevisiae alcohol acetyl transferase Atflp is localized in lipid particles

Verstrepen, K. J., Van Laere, S. D. M., Vercammen, J., Derdelinkx, G., Dufour, J. P., Pretorius, I. S., Winderickx, J., Thevelein, J. M. & Delvaux, F. R., Mar 2004, In : Yeast. 21, 4, p. 367-377 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

48 Citations (Scopus)
2003

Cloning and characterization of a second α-amylase gene (LKA2) from Lipomyces kononenkoae IGC4052B and its expression in Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Eksteen, J. M., Steyn, A. J. C., van Rensburg, P., Cordero Otero, R. R. & Pretorius, I. S., 15 Jan 2003, In : Yeast. 20, 1, p. 69-78 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

16 Citations (Scopus)

Converting plant biomass to fuels and commodity chemicals in South Africa: a third chapter?

Lynd, L. R., Von Blottnltz, H., Tait, B., De Boer, J., Pretorius, I. S., Rumbold, K. & Van Zyl, W. H., Nov 2003, In : South African Journal of Science. 99, 11-12, p. 499-507 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

19 Citations (Scopus)

Designer yeasts for the fermentation industry of the 21st century

Pretorius, I. S., Du Toit, M. & Van Rensburg, P., Jan 2003, In : Food Technology and Biotechnology. 41, 1, p. 3-10 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

47 Citations (Scopus)

Flavor-active esters: Adding fruitiness to beer

Verstrepen, K. J., Derdelinckx, G., Dufour, J. P., Winderickx, J., Thevelein, J. M., Pretorius, I. S. & Delvaux, F. R., 2003, In : Journal of Bioscience and Bioengineering. 96, 2, p. 110-118 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

255 Citations (Scopus)
2002

Genetically tailored grapevines for the wine industry

Vivier, M. A. & Pretorius, I. S., 1 Nov 2002, In : Trends in Biotechnology. 20, 11, p. 472-478 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

136 Citations (Scopus)

Meeting the consumer challenge through genetically customized wine-yeast strains

Pretorius, I. S. & Bauer, F. F., 1 Oct 2002, In : Trends in Biotechnology. 20, 10, p. 426-432 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

123 Citations (Scopus)

The sensing of nutritional status and the relationship to filamentous growth in Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Gagiano, M., Bauer, F. F. & Pretorius, I. S., Dec 2002, In : FEMS Yeast Research. 2, 4, p. 433-470 38 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

109 Citations (Scopus)
2000

Tailoring wine yeast for the new millennium: Novel approaches to the ancient art of winemaking

Pretorius, I. S., 15 Jun 2000, In : Yeast. 16, 8, p. 675-729 55 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

758 Citations (Scopus)
1997

Coregulation of starch degradation and dimorphism in the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Vivier, M. A., Lambrechts, M. G. & Pretorius, I. S., 1997, In : Critical Reviews in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. 32, 5, p. 405-435 31 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

40 Citations (Scopus)