I artaud BwO: The uses of artaud’s to have done with the judgement of god

Edward Scheer

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review

    5 Citations (Scopus)

    Abstract

    I, Antonin Artaud, am my son, my father, my mother, and myself … I don't believe in father or mother, don't have papa-mama. (OC XII: 65, 70) For I am the father-mother, neither father nor mother, neither man nor woman, I've always been here, always been body, always been man. (OC XIV**: 60) These fragments taken from late Artaud texts, Ci-Gît (Here lies) and Suppôts et suppliciations (Henchmen and torturings), written in 1946 and 1947 respectively, represent a singular version of the twentieth-century avant-garde contestation of the world as it appears to be. They represent the artist claiming the right to be the author of himself, to create a more authentic version of the self. They have also become familiar for readers of Deleuze and Guattari's own avant-garde adventure throughout the two volumes of Capitalisme et schizophrénie: L'anti-Oedipe and its sequel Mille Plateaux. Artaud's apparent acknowledgement and denial (disavowal) of the Oedipal law resonates powerfully with the anti-Oedipal themes of these works. It is a theme he returns to in the later writings: Between the body and the body there is nothing, nothing but me. It is not a state, not an object, not a mind, not a fact, even less the void of a being, absolutely nothing of a spirit, or of a mind, not a body, it is the intransplantable me. But not an ego, I don't have one. I don't have an ego … what I am is without differentiation nor possible opposition, it is the absolute intrusion of my body, everywhere. (OC XIV**: 76)

    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationDeleuze and Performance
    PublisherEdinburgh University Press
    Pages37-53
    Number of pages17
    ISBN (Electronic)9780748635054
    ISBN (Print)9780748635030
    Publication statusPublished - 1 Jan 2007

    Fingerprint Dive into the research topics of 'I artaud BwO: The uses of artaud’s to have done with the judgement of god'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this