Phytogeography of Antarctica

John Pickard, R. D. Seppelt

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

38 Citations (Scopus)


Distinguishes groups using mosses and lichens: large coastal outcrops of ice-free rock, Mawson Coast, Framnes Mountains, peninsulas near Casey Station, Windmill Islands, Prince Charles Mountains and floristically rich islands. The 36 species of lichens and 5 species of mosses form 5 groups, each with a characteristic ecological pattern. The species-groups correspond reasonably well with communities described from elsewhere in Antarctica. The authors accept the following existing phytogeographic subdivisions: Subantarctic Zone with 3 Regions (Macquarie, Kerguelen/South Georgia, Heard); Maritime Antarctic Zone; and Continental Antarctic zone with 4 Regions (Ice Sheet, Ice Slope, Coast and Drift Ice). -from Authors

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)83-102
Number of pages20
JournalJournal of Biogeography
Issue number2
Publication statusPublished - Mar 1984
Externally publishedYes

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics of 'Phytogeography of Antarctica'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

  • Cite this

    Pickard, J., & Seppelt, R. D. (1984). Phytogeography of Antarctica. Journal of Biogeography, 11(2), 83-102.