Report of the special committee on by-laws for the nomenclature section

Sandra Knapp*, Nicholas J. Turl, Mary E. Barkworth, Fred R. Barrie, Renée H. Fortunato, Kanchi Gandhi, Roy E. Gereau, Werner Greuter, Patrick S. Herendeen, Leslie R. Landrum, David J. Mabberley, Karol Marhold, Tom W. May, Gerry Moore, Lourdes Rico Arce, Gideon F. Smith, Kevin Thiele, Li Zhang

*Corresponding author for this work

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

    5 Citations (Scopus)


    The Special Committee on By-laws for the Nomenclature Section was established at the XVIII International Botanical Congress (IBC) in Melbourne in 2011, with the mandate to formalize the procedures by which changes to the Code are considered and voted upon by the Nomenclature Section, and to report to the XIX IBC in Shenzhen in 2017. With the wider participation of the community in nomenclature in general, and to address some past contentious issues in particular, the need for a clearer set of rules for management of the Nomenclature Section had surfaced. In light of this, the Committee conducted extensive negotiations and discussions on a wide range of governance topics, which are here summarized in the Committee’s report. We propose the adoption of a new and greatly expanded version of Division III of the Code. This report provides the supporting documentation for the proposal that is also published in this issue (Knapp & al. in Taxon 65: 661–664. 2016). It is necessary that the two documents be read alongside each other.

    Original languageEnglish
    Pages (from-to)665-669
    Number of pages5
    Issue number3
    Publication statusPublished - 24 Jun 2016


    • Code
    • Division III
    • International Botanical Congress
    • Nomenclature
    • Nomenclature Section


    Dive into the research topics of 'Report of the special committee on by-laws for the nomenclature section'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this