Touchstones: a suite in 8 Movements for Chamber Orchestra and Jazz Soloists

Andrew Robson (Composer)

Research output: Non-traditional research outputPerformance


Touchstones is a suite in eight movements for string orchestra and four
improvising soloists. Four of the eight movements involve the reworking of traditional English folk melodies derived from printed collections that would have been available during the first folk revival in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. For each of these traditional pieces an ‘companion’ piece was composed. These original compositions were inspired by the traditional pieces to create a 75minute concert length work.

The premiere performance of this work took place on Saturday 15 September 2012, at Hoskins Church, Lithgow NSW. The musicians for this performance were:

Prem Love
Andrew Robson – alto and baritone saxophones, descant recorder
Paul Cutlan – Bb clarinet, bass clarinet
James Greening – trombone, pocket trumpet
Brett Hirst – double bass
Bathurst Chamber Orchestra:
First violin: Doreen Cumming (soloist), Jane Cameron, Donna Delaney, Chloe
Second violin: Cindy Fox, Stephanie Baker, Terry Fish, Joan Cornett
Viola: Fiona Thompson, Kerrie Davies
Violincello: William Tu, Sybbi Georgiou
Double bass: Henry Bialowas
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationForbes, NSW
Publication statusPublished - 15 Sept 2012


  • composition
  • folksong
  • improvisation
  • jazz


Dive into the research topics of 'Touchstones: a suite in 8 Movements for Chamber Orchestra and Jazz Soloists'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this